Cross Country Polska
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content

DAKAR 2019: SS1 - All three MINI John Cooper Works Buggies in the top 10

The long wait finally came to an end today – the X-raid MINI JCW Team kicked off the 2019 Dakar with an 83-kilometre special stage around the bivouac in Pisco. Carlos Sainz and Lucas Cruz (both ESP) ended day one in second place in the MINI John Cooper Works Buggy, behind Al-Attiyah in his Toyota. Stéphane Peterhansel and David Castera (both FRA) were seventh fastest, with Cyril Despres and Jean-Paul Cottret (both FRA) tenth.

As reigning Dakar champions, Sainz and Cruz had the honour of opening the first stage, the start of which was delayed by a little over an hour. The reason for the delay was GPS issues in the motorcycle category. The Spanish duo ended the opening stage in second place. “We did not have any major issues today,” reported Sainz at the finish. “We knew what to expect. Furthermore, we didn’t want to have to open tomorrow’s stage, so that is why we took it a little easier today.

AUTO - DAKAR 2019  - PART 1

Peterhansel and Castera had to overcome a few difficulties, but still managed to finish seventh and secure their place in the top ten. “After so many weeks without a rally, I always take a bit of time to find my rhythm at first,” said Peterhansel. “As such, we did not push hard today. Plus, we had a slow puncture. We decided not to change the tyre, but to nurse the car home steadily.


The third MINI JCW Buggy crew of Despres and Cottret ended day one in tenth place. “I love this rally and always feel particularly good on the opening day,” said a pleased Despres. “We did not have to push hard today and I really enjoyed the stage.


Rally Dakar - Result SS1

1. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) / Mathieu Baumel (FRA) Toyota - 1h 1m 41s
2. Carlos Sainz (ESP) / Lucas Cruz (ESP) MINI JCW Buggy  - 1h 3m 40s
3. Kuba Przygonski (POL) / Tom Colsoul (BEL) MINI JCW Rally - 1h 3m 41s
4. Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS) / Konstantin Zhiltsov (RUS) Toyota - 1h 3m 59s
5. Yazeed Al-Rajhi (SAU) / Timo Gottschalk (GER) MINI JCW Rally - 1h 4m 09s
6. Giniel de Villiers (ZAF) / Dirk von Zitzewitz (GER) Toyota - 1h 4m 21s
7. Stéphane Peterhansel (FRA) / David Castera (FRA) MINI JCW Buggy - 1h 4m 38s
8. Bernhard Ten Brinke (NLD) / Xavier Panseri (FRA) Toyota - 1h 5m 00s
9. Harry Hunt (GBR) / Wouter Rosegaar (FRA) Peugeot - 1h 5m 06s
10. Cyril Despres (FRA) / Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA) MINI JCW Buggy - 1h 6m 06s
Source: X-raid Team press release


No event found!


Cover for Cross Country World
Cross Country World

Cross Country World

News and stories about Dakar Rally, Silk Way Rally, World Cup rallies, other cross country rallies

Walcher Racing-Team testing their Red-Lined Motorsport Adventure Nissan 🚀 ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Andalucía Rally entry lists - cars FIA and Open ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Entries for Hellas Rally Raid still open!Entries still available Remember we offer pcr test in the bivouac for 50 euros.Important notice.Please check travelling requirements for PLF forms and any other important document.If you have a necessary quarantine when back in your country let us know on [email protected]See you soonAnd keep rallying ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Matthias Ekström and Emil Bergkvist join X-raid Team for Andalucía Rally ! ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
Baja de Loulé - 29th-30th May, Portugal 🇵🇹 ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook



Rally and Race
© Cross Contry Polska